From Versailles to Notre-Dame de Paris


Paris, Notre-Dame, sous les quais

Notre-Dame de Paris, from the Quais de Seine

Today, despite the weather being not so great, I’ve waken up early in the morning in order to catch one of the first trains going to La Défense, where I’ve commuted and taken a train to Versailles, a city of international renown for its famous castle built under the long reign of Louis XIV, aka The Sun King.

I was pleasantly surprised that there was no long queue before the entrance of the castle when my friend and I arrived around 11 a.m. It only took us two minutes to go through the security checkpoint and enter the courtyard of the castle, which is unusually fast for one of the most popular UNESCO sites in France. Had we arrived half an hour later, I guess we would have had to wait much longer.

I guess it is pointless to notice that the castle was beautiful. However, I must confess I’ve found it a bit smaller than what I had expected, and the place was way too crowded to be enjoyable (especially the Hall of Mirrors). Since the weather was too bad for photography, I’ve decided not to take many pictures this time. I’ll certainly come back a bit later this summer in order to capture the magnificence of France’s most famous castle.

Two hours or so later, we finally went out, and decided to visit the city, which is worth a visit if you have the time. Even though it is far from being the most lively city in France, it still has some lovely monuments, including the cathedral, designed by the famous French architect Jacques Hardouin-Mansart, grandson of Jules Hardouin-Mansart, who designed, among other monuments, the Grand Trianon.

When we finally got back to Paris, we were a bit exhausted, but happy with our visit. I got off at Saint-Michel Notre-Dame, and took two photos of the cathedral I had been wanting to take for a long time, and then went home.

In short, it was a beautiful day, and I’m glad to share it with you.

Versailles, Galerie

Versailles, gallery

Versailles, Galerie

Versailles, another gallery

Versailles, Chapelle

Versailles, the Royal Chapel

Versailles, Escaliers

Some stairs in Versailles

Versailles, Cathédrale

Inside Saint-Louis Cathedral

Paris, Notre-Dame

View on Notre-Dame de Paris

Share your thoughts

