Saint-Denis Street


Passage du Grand CerfPassage du Grand Cerf

Rue Saint-Denis certainly is one of the most lively streets of Paris: whether it’s daytime or nighttime, you’ll never find yourself alone in this very characterful part of the capital city.

During the day, it is full of tourists who can enjoy the multicultural character of this part of the capital city of France as well as the medieval architecture of the buildings surrounding the street with their sometimes sloping facades. Of course, it’s also a place where you will find the usual drug dealers and little traffickers you find in any touristic place, but in the end, I wouldn’t say it feels unsafe, or rather, even though you should be careful with your belongings there, I do not think you will get mugged during daytime.

However, the most interesting face of this street is the one it has at night. Then, the streets are crowded with people of all origins coming here to find some place to eat, and restaurants are not what Rue Saint-Denis lacks, to say the least. You will find everything you might want to eat: Indian food, Turkish food, Chinese food, Italian food… Rue Saint-Denis could be nicknamed “the popular stomach of Paris”. It’s also the time when prostitutes get out and work on the street, which contributes to the sulphurous reputation of the street.

Whether you like it or not, I really think it’s a place you have to visit if you stay some time in Paris. First, the place on its own is quite interesting: old medieval buildings, numerous passages… Second, the atmosphere is quite unique: even though it’s quite a safe place, you still feel you enter a very popular street, where trafficking is common, where you’ll have no difficulty at all to find whatever illegal service or product you might be looking for. Last, it’s not far from Paris downtown, so you may just come across this street by chance, and it would be a shame not to make a detour via this notorious street, where you can always find something nice to photograph.

Square Stairway

Some square stairway in a building, Rue Saint-Denis

Swirling Stairway

Stairway, Rue Saint-Denis

Un réverbère vers le ciel

Un réverbère la tête en l’air

A passage near Saint-Denis Street

Some narrow street near Rue Saint-Denis

Leaf

A leaf in Square Emile Chautemps

6 thoughts on “Saint-Denis Street

  1. These are beautiful, unbelievable. I’d love to live somewhere I can take one step out the door and have endless possibilities to photograph. Between your A6000 and your NEX-6 which one do you prefer? Or does it depend on the subject? I have a NEX-5T, with an 18-50mm; I love it, but I miss the viewfinder.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your compliments !

      I own a Nex-6 and an A6000 indeed, and though I find the latter the most “advanced” one (better AF, 24MP, better menus, very good ergonomics), I still prefer the Nex 6, which exactly fits into my hand, and which I’m much more used to (I’ve been having it for two years now). Plus, it feels a bit lighter, so I like having it in hand all day long.

      All in all, if I were to choose again, I would take a Nex 6 if it were below $349, but otherwise, I still think the A6000, as a main camera (and if you have a Nex 5T, which is a camera I’d love to have), is the best deal.

      Also, if you only have the 16-50, you may want to check the SEL50f1.8, SEL35f1.8 and the CZ24f1.8, three prime lenses I own (or have owned) and love. The CZ24f1.8 really is a masterpiece that’s changed my experience of photography (great contrasts, colours, sharpness, and very useful focal length and close)focus distance). There are also the three Sigmas (19, 30 and 60 f2.8) which are a bit cheaper, but amongst the best you can have for your Nex (I’m currently wondering if I take the 19mm or not).

      I hope that will help you !

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

