Photos of a Saturday morning in Lyon


A photo walk along the Saône river and in the narrow and colourful streets of Vieux Lyon.

Saint-Jean

Lyon, Cathédrale Saint-Jean

In France, the Feast of Ascension is a holiday, and since it always happens on a Thursday, most companies, administrations and other organisations generally give their employees a day off on the following Friday so that people can enjoy 4 consecutive days of holidays. This year, since I live in Paris, I’ve decided to spend those 4 days in Lyon, where I hadn’t been for three months at least.

Quite unfortunately, the weather is not so nice this year, so I haven’t been able to take as many pictures – and some pictures I wanted to take – as I wished. However, it’s been a great opportunity to try one of these ND filters I had bought some time ago, and try to take advantage of the meh weather we have by taking long exposure B&W pictures during daytime, more precisely in the hush hours of the morning.

I must confess I still need much more practice, and maybe something else than a variable ND filter, which I understand is not the best for long exposure photography. However, I’m still thrilled by the first results I have, and I’m pretty sure that with some practice (in photography, it often comes down to this), the results I get will vastly improve. I can’t wait to use those filters again in Paris !

I hope you’ll enjoy the few shots I’ve taken this morning, including those of traboules which are not meant to be photographically perfect, but should give you an idea of why I love Lyon and its Renaissance district so much, and if you’ve got any advice regarding long-exposure photography and filters, don’t hesitate to post a comment, I’d be glad to receive some help.

Saint-Georges, sous le pont

Saint-Georges, under the Tilsitt bridge

Lyon, sous le pont

La Passerelle du Palais de Justice, under the Tilsitt bridge

Les quais e Saône

Lyon, by the Saône

Saint-Georges

Lyon, Saint-Georges

Passerelle du Palais de Justice

Lyon, la Passerelle du Palais de Justice

Escalier

Some stairs in Rue Mercière

Puits de Lumière

Light well in La Maison du Soleil

Stairway 2

Stairs in a traboule

Traboule, fenêtre

A window in a traboule

StariwayMontée du Change

Traboule near Rue Juiverie

A traboule in Montée du Change

Traboule, vers le Quai Saint-Vincent

Traboule Quai Saint-Antoine

Traboule, Quai Saint-Vincent

Traboule near Quai Saint-Antoine

Saint-Paul

Passerelle Saint-Vincent, Saint-Paul

4 thoughts on “Photos of a Saturday morning in Lyon

  1. that’s great architectural photography, underneath the bridge – beautiful framing. And the window shot, great! What’s up with the blue sky? The weather can’t be that bad 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It didn’t last much longer than a few minutes, unfortunately. But thanks for the compliment 🙂 Lyon really is a nice city to visit if you like architecture, even though it is hard to give it justice all the time, since most of what is to be seen there is either hidden or in dark and narrow passages that are really hard to photograph, but damn fun to visit.

      Like

Share your thoughts

