One late evening at Passy


Vers Passy

Under Le Pont Bir-Hakeim

A lot of people who come to Paris tend to go back from the city with the feeling that after all, the Eiffel Tower was not as impressive nor as majestic as in their dreams. I’m the exact opposite of them.

As a matter of fact, when I first came to Paris, I must confess the feeling of having been forced to go to Paris to find a job had embittered me a bit about the capital city of France, and its most famous monument, the Eiffel Tower. I used to say to whomever would have the courage to listen to me that Paris was not as beautiful as everyone in the world always seems to imagine, or rather, that it was merely not as beautiful as Lyon was for me.

However, I’ve come to like Paris a bit more everyday, and in the end, after having spent 8 months in this, I guess I’ve also got fond of its most iconic monument, the Eiffel Tower.

There are many places whence you can admire “La vieille dame”, as those who love “her” are used to saying in French. Of course, you can enjoy a striking view of it from Trocadero. You can also go to Pont Mirabeau at sunset and marvel at the last sunbeams of the day colouring the glass buildings bordering the Seine near Grenelle, with the Eiffel tower in the background lighting up little by little as the night comes. But for me, the view that enthrals me the most is the one from Passy and Pont Bir-Hakeim.

Maybe it’s because of my seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time as I was crossing the bridge one night while taking the subway to go back to Charles de Gaulle – L’Etoile ? Or maybe because I also love the perspective that the columns under the overhead subway rails create ? All I know is that I love going there at nightfall and taking pictures of the Eiffel Tower and the passage under the rails, and that every time I come back home with my memory card full of photos, I’m always excited at the idea of finally processing my photos in order to post them on this blog.

Tour Eiffel

The Eiffel Tower before nightfall

Tour Eiffel at nightfall

The Eiffel Tower lighting up

The Eiffel Tower at night

The Eiffel Tower at night

Passy

Passy at night

One thought on “One late evening at Passy

Share your thoughts

