Silver Paris


A black and white picture of Quai des Orfèvres, Paris, France, taken in the early morning.

Quai des Orfèvres, B&W

Paris, Quai des Orfèvres

I woke up around 6 a.m. this morning and went downtown to catch the sunrise. Unfortunately, the horizon was cloudy, so there were no shades of pink and blue to see in the morning sky. Moreover, the Seine’s current was quite strong, so the reflections were not as perfect as I expected them to be.

However, it would have been such a waste of time and efforts to go there and not come back with a few pictures, so I decided to take some pictures despite the far from ideal weather.

As the sun was rising, I took my tripod, mounted my camera on the top of it, mounted a ND400 filter on the lens, and took that cityscape. I really love the result.

I guess that experience taught me a lesson : sometimes (oftentimes these days), in photography, you don’t get what you were looking for, but shoot anyway. Who knows, you might end up with a pretty surprise.

NB : The shot was made using a tripod, a Sony Nex 6 and a Zeiss 24f1.8 with a ND 400 Hoya filter. The exposure settings were : f4.5, 30 seconds, ISO 100. I used Adobe Lightroom to process the picture.

5 thoughts on “Silver Paris

  1. You may not have found the light you hoped for on this morning, but instead you went home with a classic image with a beautiful sense of stillness to it. As consolation prizes go, I’d say this one is pretty wonderful. Très belle capture, Pierre !

    Like

Share your thoughts

